Recent content by BobC

1. BobC

How do you feel about drums made in Taiwan?

If it's well built drum that looks and sounds good, I don't care where it's made.
  2. BobC

On Buddy Rich's Birthday (9/30), Remembering When He Quit Playing Drums to Become a Singer

He finally told Mel Torme, "I'm a drummer." I'm glad he changed his mind.
  3. BobC

Lari Basilio ----

I think she's very talented, but it's really not my kind of music.
  4. BobC

The "two drummer blues"

Your situation is good and not so good at the same time. Don't lose track of your own ability to function as the sole drummer in other musical situations. I have only played with another drummer on a few occasions, and it always went well, because we were both aware of what each of us were...
  5. BobC

I was lazy yesterday and paid for it

Right. Murphy's Law. In all my years of gigging, I have needed a spare snare exactly twice. I also carry a spare bass drum pedal, and sure enough, last Friday, I left my favorite pedal home. Good thing I had the spare.
  6. BobC

I was lazy yesterday and paid for it

Rick, I always take a second snare on the gig. It pays to be prepared, as you know. I'm not familiar with the Benny Greb snare. Why do you think it sounded thin on your gig?
  7. BobC

Bonzo envy

Thank you and well said!
  8. BobC

Well that's 2022 finished!

Sorry to hear that. Let's hope for a better 2023.
  9. BobC

Bonzo envy

Buddy Rich is my favorite drummer, hands down. I have accepted the fact that I will never be anywhere near his level. Hardly anyone was or is. Just be the best drummer you can be within your chosen style of music. That's all you can do, unless you practice for umpteen hours a day, which for...
  10. BobC

I knew it was gonna be a bad gig when...