Recent content by arsalanxaidi

1. A

DRUM Cymbals purchase.. HELP required !!!

Hi all, this is an urgent question. i have to order today. so following are the options i have to buy stuff TODAY (so its sort of urgent as i'm having things delivered from somewhere :) ): Current setup: Pasite 2002 16 inch crash (love it, want to add more 2002s); new beat hi hats and a...
  2. A

hi hat opening sound

I really love the sound of the hi hat bark, or opening up and closing in quick intervals, in music. there's only one question though, while we are jamming to a song at the jamm room, the tip of the stick hitting the tip of the hat creates a loud enough hi hat opening sound, which everyone can...
  3. A

Beat displacement, dotted notes and Gavin Harrison's Rhythmic Illusions

Hi all, hope you guys are doing good. First off im COMPLETELY new to the concept of beat displacement and i intend to start off the book Rhythmic Illusions by Gavin Harrison. Please bare with me as im going to be asking ALOT of questions here in order clear my concepts (i tried searching but...
  4. A

Hi Hat Chic: URGENT question

hi all, I have an urgent question (since I have a gig tomorrow and i'm playing live after a LONGGGGGGG wait) So first off, I have never played a beat before where the only cymbal that is being used is the hi hat chic (basically no time keeping with the sticks, its only the left foot that is...
  5. A

3/4 Time signature Beat (or 3/8 ... ??:/)

ok so here's the deal while working on our first song, i decided i could add a bit of difference to a song by using a 3/4 beat (i think it is 3/4 and not 3/8; i'd like some explanation on that one as well). so the beat is something like this first of all: - single hi hat stroke all along, with...
  6. A

Covers vs Originals... Help required !!!