Recent content by aboylikedave

1. A

Sabian HH Duo Ride

Any opinions? Are they versatile like the HH mediums and OK in an unmic'd setting? Or are they really just a jazz or ride?
  2. A

Interesting groupings - rudiments around the kit

I've just learnt to play triplets in groupings of 4 around the kit as paradiddles and it sounds great (sort of implies a 3 over 4 polyrhythm). Does anyone have any similar groupings of rudiments which I could try out? Hope this makes sense!
  3. A

Jazz - next steps for a beginner

I’ve been playing drums for four years but still think of myself as a beginner and really want to develop my jazz playing so last week I arranged a beginners/intermediate jam (put an ad up and got loads of replies). I enjoyed it but thought I was terrible! I’ve got my ride cymbal pattern and...
  4. A

Versatile Istanbul or Bosphorus

Hi guys I'm after a versatile ride cymbal for funk, light rock and pop - I hear mainly about Bos/Istanbul for the jazzier side of things in light weights. But how are the mediums or heavies for a more versatile ride? EDIT: As they are heavier are they slightly drier sounding? I think that may...
  5. A

Coated heads for kick drum?

Hi - I'm going to go with Remo Ambassador for my kick. Anything thicker or premuffled just kills my Stage Custom 20 kick. Why is it that you rarely see a coated head on a kick? What are your opinions on coated or clear for kick drums? I'd be interested in your opinions for both batter and...
  6. A

Sabian HHX Stage Ride

Any good? Sound good in the sound files, but are they possibly a bit dull or 'lacklustre'?
  7. A

Coltrane - Favorite Things

As a relative beginner I'm getting together with a sax player to play My Favorite Things and other tunes. There's a couple of things I'd like to ask if anyone can help me with. Firstly, I can't make out exactly what Elvin Jones is doing with the hi hat - is he playing the chick on 2 and 3, or...
  8. A

S-l-o-w jazz ballads