Worst idea in Drumming

Ok ok.....To all of those bashing the double pedal lol....I can agree that people should learn to play the drums not learn to just play fast double bass......BUT saying it is useless or a bad idea is just like saying the same thing about your floor tom(s). I use double bass in a lot of my music but rarely do I use it in straight 16th pattern... When applied correctly double bass can definately add a certain something.... I will say learn single first...There that's my compromise I met halfway ;)

I am not going to disparage the so-called "Virgin Kick", but the idea that mounting toms to the bass drum hurts the sound is just ridiculous. I'm a structural engineer and I have some idea of the physics involved and this "old wives tale" has gone way too far. Structurally, a damper is added at the point of the mount which will change the modal frequencies of the shell. However, it is only the frequencies in the audial range that would be of any consequence and it would take an extraordinary set of conditions for the tom mount to have any noticible negative effect. It's even more trivial when you consider that the spurs go from the shell to the ground and essentially act as infinite dampers on the shell. Then there is the fact that the heads can be tuned independently of the shell configuration which makes the impact of adding a tom mount even more inconsequential. (The idea that wrap hurts sound is just as silly).

I would love to set up a blind test with two bass drums - one with a tom mount and one "virgin" - and bet one of the perpetuators of this myth $1000 that they could not pick out the "virgin" kick more than 5 times out of 10 different tunings. I have nothing against virgin kicks but I think it's time for the myth to go.

Last edited:
(The idea that wrap hurts sound is just as silly).