Looking for a new kit (NEED HELP)

I am new to DrummerWorld! I have a few questions! Ive been saving up some money (around the £500 mark) and ive been looking at different kits! Id just like to know your opinions on these kits! I am not a beginner as I have been playing for quite a few years and have been in a band! The style of music that I would be playing would be heavy rock, but not anything too heavy... the kit I would like would need to be suitable for gigging with

The two kits ive been looking at are

Mapex Horizon HZB Birch Series 6pc Drum Kit >>
www.drum-stop.co.uk/mapex_horizon_hzb_birch_series_6pc_drum_kit_various_colours-p-1768.html

Mapex Horizon Club Classic Drum kit >>
www.drum-stop.co.uk/mapex_horizon_club_classic_jazz_drum_kit_rattan_yellow-p-2587.html

BUT further saving could get me the Mapex Meridian Birch for almost £700.. but my concern is.. I need a set of cymbals.. but once I get the kit out of the way.. that can come next..

Buy a USED KIT, and save up some more money! Those kits are beginner kits ;) Meridian Birch or Maple a great kits, but the Horizon are too cheap...
Save up some more money and buy the whole thing used.

- You chose the most expensive instrument to play :D

Btw - what kit you got now?

Hi Maurice

Welcome to the forum...

Well, since you're not a beginner, I would suggest the option of saving a bit more cash.

This increase dramaticaly your choice of drums/brands, and more importantly, it will sound better.

I'll say keep saving...

Buy a USED KIT, and save up some more money! Those kits are beginner kits ;) Meridian Birch or Maple a great kits, but the Horizon are too cheap...
Save up some more money and buy the whole thing used.

- You chose the most expensive instrument to play :D

Btw - what kit you got now?

Thanks for the advice, I might just save up a little and get the Meridian Birch kit!

At the moment im playing a beginner kit that I was able to get dirt cheap, its a Boston kit with some minor improvements!