The switch between electric and acoustic.

evraisgod

Here is my story guys.

I have been playing a low range electrical kit for two years now and i have obtained some decent skills. Being able to play at any time and relatively quiet has really helped but alas the time has come to upgrade to a 'real' kit. My electrical isn't the great substitute i once thought. I found this out when my band and i recently hired a practice room and there was already a house drum kit for me to play. I race over all excited and to my great dismay i couldn't perform half of what i considered to be my current skill level. I was in shock! Don't get me wrong i know exactly why this is, it was just a real eye opener at the time.

A month passed and i bought a second hand yamaha 9000 series, four toms, bass drum, crash, china and a ride along with all the stands. For this i paid £350 and was assured this was a good price since the ride alone cost £300.

Now my questions.

A. Has anyone experienced this change between electrical to acoustic?
B. Does anyone have advice regarding the first time purchasing of hi hats and snares?

Before i go id like to say i have been lurking on this great site for a few years now and i have learnt a lot from everyone here and for that i want to say a big thank you.

Here is my story guys.

I have been playing a low range electrical kit for two years now and i have obtained some decent skills. Being able to play at any time and relatively quiet has really helped but alas the time has come to upgrade to a 'real' kit. My electrical isn't the great substitute i once thought. I found this out when my band and i recently hired a practice room and there was already a house drum kit for me to play. I race over all excited and to my great dismay i couldn't perform half of what i considered to be my current skill level. I was in shock! Don't get me wrong i know exactly why this is, it was just a real eye opener at the time.