Scouting for new hats.

zambizzi

Platinum Member
Fedora? Bowler? Ten Gallon? Sombrero? :p

All cool...but I need some new hi hats. Two years ago I was playing in a 2 pc. garage rock/pop band that was rather low-volume. At the time, I was using some 13" Jojo Fierce Hats, which were great for that particular music.

Then I started playing very loud rock music, so I sent the Jojos off into the eBay wilderness and picked up some AAX X-Celerators...which have served me well for 2 yrs.

Now I'm playing Afro-Funk and I'm finding that the one thing that's standing out and sounding terrible on the recordings...are the damn hi hats. Bright, piercing...absolutely grating on the greasy grooves I'm trying to lay down in this music.

Here they are, for reference:
http://sabian.com/EN/products/AAX_X-Celerator_Hats_14_21402XL.cfm

...attached is a clip of half of the band working out a groove on a new tune. Without all 9 (or more) people, you can actually hear me. Hah!

Anyhow, I'm looking for something in between, I guess. Something a bit more versatile. I love Sabian and all of my cymbals are Sabian, so I'm not looking at anything else. Maybe that's narrow...but I never found any Zildjian or Paiste hats that I really love, and I'm too anal-retentive to mix in some other obscure brand, especially when there are so many great Sabian hats to choose from. I'm looking mostly at the HHX line...definitely my favorite sound. I'm running a 21" HHX Groove Ride and a 17" Evolution crash, and love those to death. My other crash is a 19" Jojo Vault Fierce model.

Here's what I'm down to and really like the sound of, so far:

Fusion Hats
http://sabian.com/EN/products/HHX_Fusion_Hats_14_11450XN.cfm

HHX X-Celerators
http://sabian.com/EN/products/HHX_X-Celerator_Hats_14_11402XL.cfm

Legacy
http://sabian.com/EN/products/HHX_Legacy_Hats_14_11402XLN.cfm