Evans EC2 with EC1 resonsant heads?

Max99

Hey. I was thinking about trying this, I thought the two may complement each other since they both focus the lower end of the drum. Has anyone tried this before?
Thanks

I've used EC2 with EC Resonants and liked the sound, though it's pretty controlled.

With the EC1 being four mil thicker than the EC Reso I'm not really sure if that would be a good thing or not. The EC1 is a pretty stiff head.

I have some experience with these.

Currently using: EC2 Coated heads (batter) and EC Resonants on the bottom.
Was using: EC2 Clear (batter) and EC1 Clear (Reso)

My current head configuration seems to gives me a more focused sound and very nice projection with better bottom end. Plus a much warmer sound.

Hope this helps a bit.

RJ

I've used the EC1s as batters but not resos. They are a very dark sounding head with a lot of sustain (they're 14mil). I would imagine that coupled with the EC2s you'd have a quite dark sound with lots of sustain--if that's what you want, have fun.

If you'd like some of the sustain but not such a dark sound, try the G-plus clears as resos. I use them to add sustain to individual toms that need it.

That is the first combo I tried on my Sonor 3007's and I got a great sound out of them. I still have the EC1's as my reso, but I switched to clear G2's on the batters.

I re-headed my Sonor kit with EC2 batter and EC Resonate, they sound pretty good but feel they would be best in the studio. I put my other set of batter heads on (Remo coated pinstripe) and kept the resonates on and they really helped bring out the roar without the ring. So I guess I'm saying the reso's are very good but for my kit the batters did not seem to really shine the way I hoped. It can be frustrating because until you put them on and really give them a good workout you can not tell how they will sound with your kit, the quality is there from both companies but it will depend on what your playing them on.