Minimum Gear Needed For Recording?

DanFo

I really want to get into recording. Problem is I have no idea where to start. So as the title states, what's the least amount of gear I can have to get a decent sound. I've heard of people getting good recordings with one mic (and I know your room and your surroundings are a big part) but is a one or two mic setup feasible?

Just remember I'm a total noob when it comes to this. Websites or suggestions are appreciated.

Im relatively new to recording too so i dont know much about top equipment and loads of techniques to get the best sound. But ive found that a zoom h2 handy recorder is a good place to start. I can get good quality recordings from this both of just drums and a whole band too. And its simple to use i literally have just the h2 and nothing else. It comed with a usb so you can connect to a pc to edit the files. You can so some editing on the h2 its self and everything is stored on an sd card. It has loads of settings and i just put it on a mic stand and move it around to find the best sound

i have a zoom h2 and i'll second that it does a great job recording drums and anything else. i use it all the time to record rehearsals and live performances.

you can also use a computer with a single microphone connected to the mic input port and record with the windows sound recorder program or the free sound editing program "audacity" (what i use). that a pretty minimal setup, but it works. i even did a soundtrack for a commercial video with a basic setup like that and everyone loved it.

like you pointed out yourself, the quality of the results depends on the room, how good the mic is, and where you place it.

Cool thanks for the info. What's the average price of the Zoom H2?

you can get a really good sound with a cheep usb audio in box, and 2 overhead condensers
you should join a recording forum and they will tell you how to set it up for fazing ect.

its all about equal distance from the snare.