Neil Peart Plays Buddy Rich

I would like to put things this way. I have seen and heard both Neil Peart and Buddy Rich lay down things on a drum kit that made my mouth drop open and I was humbled in awe at what both of these men, and many others that are in their league could do with rhythms!

I have been playing for many years, I know a great drummer when I see one! I will not sit quietly on the sidelines while people criticize drummers that are truly worth honorable mention.

You seem to miss the point of the whole discussion Bob. No matter who you are if you miss the mark by a country mile due to not knowing the language being spoken the jig is up clear and simple... that's the blunt truth which applies to ALL drummers regardless of fame or fortune in whatever genre they choose or have their claim to fame in.

Here's another way of looking at from a perspective/psychological human perception standpoint. If you only heard the early clip without the visual footage up to and minus the solo {and here's the important part} not knowing who the drummer actually was could you say in all honestly the drummer in question was really swinging, playing or phrasing like a pro level seasoned Big Band drummer from what you heard in the audio track? Most people who know this particular jazz language intimately by ear by listening to that music for years or having actual experience with playing that drum chair firsthand would say not a chance in Hell "whoever" it was nailed it for real within that common known jazz language.

After this first go I believe Neil himself had this humble "moment" of understanding and decided to find a good teacher to do the much needed "homework" required to honor the Big Band jazz craft in a better way the next time around. Good on him for doing that......

THAT'S the point from my side of the tracks my friend and will remain unchanged.... no hate or slamming just plain simple reality for doing the given task and job it's proper due respect.