Full time job and Professional drummer? Is it possible?

matthew

hey

im at a turning point in my life. I have a science degree to my name and with that I am applying for full time jobs. I'm not trying very hard because I fear I will actually get one and that MIGHT affect my drumming. But i need to either use my degree and get a job in the next 6 months or my studies are dated and irrelevant.

On the drumming side of my life: I've played for 10 years, I'm 22, i went to a conservatory for 6 months, then left it, I have had lots of live experience, held down a two gigs per week job with two different bands every week (saturday and mondays) for the last year and a half. And recently I have just joined the best group of musicians that I have ever worked with on an ambitious new original project with lots of material ready to go. They want to go full time, record and tour...

So enough with the backstory. Does any one have experience working a full time job but still remaining up-to-speed with their drumming ability?

I mean, atm I get lessons once a week, practice every day, gig once or twice a week, jam a couple times a week. But working 50+ hours a week would make all this a lot harder....

can it be done, or should i go hungry like Ray Charles did and play music no holds barred?

Depends. What other responsibilities do you have? Wife? Kids? Caregiver to parents or siblings? Student loans? Rent? Credit Cards? Life and Medical Insurance? Auto loans? You say you are 22, with a Science Degree. If you are 22 years young and have no other responsibilites or commitments other than yourself, little to no bills, GO FOR IT NO HOLDS BARRED!!!

i have a full time job. i take lessons once a week and practice daily. i'm in a band that gigs, and i'm involved with some side projects. i'm single, which helps.

but i'm much older than you and heavily entrenched in my day job career. if i were only 22 and in your position i'd be seriously tempted to go on tour and do the whole deal.