Missing Lesson Policy

kzdruma

Hi everyone. I want to know what you all think. I am a drum teacher and have had a lot of students missing lessons lately. Is this fare?
Dear Parents,

There have been some recent advents that are forcing me to change my policy. The current studio policy you have all signed states “If you can not attend a lesson, please notify the instructor directly at the phone number below, preferably within 24 hours of your lesson.” My new policy, effective immediately, will be that you must call either me or the store within 24 hours of the lesson starting. If you do not do so you will be charged for this lesson. I want to thank the families that have been doing this. If you have any questions feel free to call Voigt Music Center at (608)365-2276 or me at (608)XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

Brian Gile

Yes, that is fine in my opinion. At least you're giving them the option to save thier money, I know plenty of instructors that won't do that. Each student pays a month in advance and if they miss a lesson they still pay for it regardless of reason.

Good on ya.

I think it is important for my students to enjoy their lessons. I have been giving lessons for over half my life and have found that one of the only reasons kids stop taking lessons is because of their parents. I don't want this to be a reason they quit playing. Always looking out for the kids!!!

I think it is important for my students to enjoy their lessons. I have been giving lessons for over half my life and have found that one of the only reasons kids stop taking lessons is because of their parents. I don't want this to be a reason they quit playing. Always looking out for the kids!!!

That really makes me happy to hear you say that. Instructors need to look out for thier students and not just think of them as a paycheck. Good job.