Jim Chapin: Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer

Toza

I finally found a copy of this book and start to work on it. It looks great. Your impressions???

It was my first "jazz" book and at the time I loved it. But having learned of Alan Dawson's methods, I find this book to be obsolete.

Very few people agree with you. I suggest taking the view that you missed something.....
Respectfully,
Casper

I liked the book, but I found Riley's 'Art of Bop Drumming' to be more accessible, specially for beginners.

Still, it's a great book.

The straight 8ths and 16ths against the swung ride pattern threw me pretty bad.

I tend to agree with The_Colonel and oops - Advanced Techniques blew me away when I first opened it. It was the first jazz book I studied, I had no clue what I was doing, and it kicked my ass many times. Years later when I found Art of Bop, and more recently the Dawson book, I find the practical aspects of the Chapin book handicapped.

Riley's book actually talks about, you know, the MUSIC and provides the same fundamentals in a better layout, while the Dawson book really explores the more advanced conceptual aspects in ways that inspire you too extrapolate with your own variations. The Chapin book is mostly just a pig of an excercise book, but this is jazz, this is creative expression, and the book gives me very little on this front.

I tend to agree with The_Colonel and oops - Advanced Techniques blew me away when I first opened it. It was the first jazz book I studied, I had no clue what I was doing, and it kicked my ass many times. Years later when I found Art of Bop, and more recently the Dawson book, I find the practical aspects of the Chapin book handicapped.