Tips for increasing stick control?

SamCronenberg

I was wondering if anyone could help me out, I need some sort of lesson, technique, or really just any tips on how to increase my stick control. Any tips would be appreciated, because though I have been playing for close to seven years now, I never had any formal lessons. Thanks!

May sound redundant, but practice practice practice and get a teacher. You don't have to go every week, just save $50 up, take a lesson, save up another $50 and take another one a month or so later.

And get Jojo's DVD. Incredible tool for hand technique.

Buy George L. Stone's book "Stick Control for the Snare Drummer" and start playing the excercises just as is reccomended in the book, or you can go to the Stick Control thread on the forum and see how other people practice it. If you can't read music, that's fine for now, the first excercises are all eighth notes anyway, and like Thomas Pridgen said, "even if you can't read, you can still tell your left from your right".

Once you get into some of the triplet stuff and whatnot, you can ask people here how to read them, or maybe you'll have gotten a teacher by then or ventured into learning how to read on your own.

Those excercises will broaden your vocabulary because they're sticking combinations much like rudiments (in fact, a lot of the first ones are paradiddles and inversions), they'll increase your stick control and coordination, and you'll slowly start picking up some reading ability. At least that's what I did, it was the first book i bought and helped me immensly.

do you know whats gladstone tehnique? free stroke?? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cb75dgldnY

try this. play high stroke and try to use rebound so the stick comes back up. just let it comes back on his own even if it falls out of your hands, you must practice this