DW sold to Roland?

I haven't seen anyone using a contemporary Slingerland drum since the 1990's.
Gretsch? Well they have become very popular again - with a couple of well known younger UK drummers endorsing them.

That’s understandable as Slingerland hasn’t been around for nearly two decades. Apparently Gibson stopped production in 2003.

I have my contemporary Radio King Nashville era (1990’s) snare showing on my avatar pic but of course I’m a nobody/not a name drummer.

I have my contemporary Radio King Nashville era (1990’s) snare showing on my avatar pic but of course I’m a nobody/not a name drummer.
The 90's drums were pretty nice. The snares were especially nice. I'm just saying, they don't seem to be an important entity in the modern drum scene, like DW or Gretsch.

20% of this deal kind of tugs on a nationalistic heart string for me. The other 80% says good gear is good gear wherever it comes from. Heck, I've played Yamaha stuff since the mid 80's. When they moved a lot of their drum manufacturing to Malaysia - then to China - my impression was.... I can trust that Yamaha would be smart enough to not jeopardize their reputation and mess this up. I believe the same is true with DW / Roland. Are they going to make changes to DW? Undoubtedly. Will I like those changes? Who knows? Having been involved in merges and buyouts in other businesses I can tell you, when a founder (s) of a company sells, they usually agonize over finding someone that will preserve their legacy. This seems like a good fit!

Last edited:
Whatever - the actual point is the controlling shareholder is a US equity company: