What equipment is needed to listen to CDs through headphones and speakers simultaneously while playing acoustic drums?

CaliTraci

My landlord has given me the task of getting him set up with cd player, speakers, and headphones listen to when he practices. His current cd player and speakers have bit the dust. A professional drummer friend of mine suggested the headphones used on one ear/behind one ear. I'm not a musician myself and not sure what I need to make this happen for him.

The current wisdom is to wear somewhat sound isolating headphones to deaden the sound of the drums a bit - in order to protect the player's hearing. Drums just shouldn't listened to up close without hearing protection.

The best of these would likely be the GK Ultraphones.... though there are plenty of less expensive "drummer's phones" that would likely serve his needs.

Generally them it is just a matter of plugging the phones into the CD player.

That's it - IMO speakers really play no part in playing along with acoustic drums.... the drums are just too loud. And with the need for hearing protection - why blast more sound into the room (and the neighbor's home) - only to be wearing headphones anyway.

I haven't had speakers on while playing since I was 10 (before I got headphones) and basically trashed the speakers in my small bed room stereo.