New tax laws regarding PayPal, VenMo and Zelle

Did they or did they not lower the reporting threshold? If they did (they did) how can you say no law has changed?
I said - no actual tax law has changed. With this reporting change, nobody is going to owe one ent of tax on anything that they didn't already owe before. No tax law has changed.

This kind of change effects no one - but those that were previously filing their taxes sloppily or outright trying to not pay the tax they owe.

So that's how I can say "no (tax) law has changed".... nobody's taxes have been raised because of this change.

Did they or did they not lower the reporting threshold? If they did (they did) how can you say no law has changed?
Hi Darth what do you mean the reporting threshold?

The 1099 has been $600 since I can remember, I’ve been an accountant for almost a decade.

In short, this law is not affecting just drums as someone who has mentioned shoes, it’s any revenue generated from sales whether gain or loss of sale.

I’m not going to suggest anything but use your head folks, this is obviously a barrier for transactions longer than ‘arms length’.

@dcrigger I’m not a CPA but I’ve explained most of that as succinct as I could.
From post #3:
The IRS will then reconcile between the 1099 issuance from the company as they either will report your annual payout using your EIN or SSN as sole identifiers.

But it seems tax avoiding folks will tend to find loopholes.

. . . . . . If they don't, it will trigger an inquiry - usually an automatic electronic one looking for an explanation... "We see you received $600 from so and so and yet, we can't find that $600 dollars on your return. Please explain." And if he doesn't, he'll likely get a bill for the tax on $600 at least - at worst, it will trigger an audit. . . . . .