SM57 for snare

Mastiff

I found a Shure SM57 on ebay for $60, which seemed like a good deal, so I picked it up. I hooked it up today, and to my ear it sounds really muffled with all the highs cut. I have very little experience with mikes though. What I know for sure is that my condenser overheads pick up way more highs and brightness and sound way better to me. Is this the nature of the SM57 on a snare? Or maybe the mic is faulty?

Thanks for the input guys. I may just be on the steep part of the learning curve here. I had the mic aiming pretty close at the top head, but when I did some experimenting and aimed it at the bottom head, it sounded very bright. I'm going to experiment some more, but I suspect the overheads are picking up the whole snare more (plus reflections from snare side), and the top head itself is simply pretty dull and low by comparison. I may just aim the SM57 at the snare side instead, and call it good.

Thanks for the input guys. I may just be on the steep part of the learning curve here. I had the mic aiming pretty close at the top head, but when I did some experimenting and aimed it at the bottom head, it sounded very bright. I'm going to experiment some more, but I suspect the overheads are picking up the whole snare more (plus reflections from snare side), and the top head itself is simply pretty dull and low by comparison. I may just aim the SM57 at the snare side instead, and call it good.
Yes, this. The first time you hear a close-mic'd snare drum (from the top only), you wonder what the hell that awful, pinched sound is.

Keep experimenting with placement, and with mixing the 57 in with the overheads. For an interesting experiment, try using the 57 as an overhead itself, for comparison. It's very educational.