Lumber and stick prices.

DrumDoug

I’ve seen the news about the skyrocketing price of lumber. Prices have risen 130%. If stick makers pass on this price increase, a pair of sticks will be around $23. I realize the price of the wood is not the whole price of a stick. It will still raise stick prices. This price increase might be temporary, as demand falls post pandemic. The question is, will stick manufactures keep their prices stable and absorb the losses until prices come down? Will they temporally raise prices, and then lower them when lumber prices come back down? Or will they raise prices and leave them there permanently?

I've played almost nothing but 5A and 5B my entire life—well, since I started playing drums—with the very occasional use of 7A for quiet stuff or 2B for the practice pad. But for some reason, this post has me wanting to rush out and try a bunch of new sticks to see if there's something out there that works better for me.

The future of stick pricing is hard to extrapolate. Factors beyond the traceable dimensions of supply and demand inform manufacturers' financial decisions. Unfortunately, once prices increase, seeing significant deductions is rare, save in the fuel sector, where undulating numbers have always prevailed. Sticks could very well experience a permanent price augmentation beyond that of moderate inflation. Only time will tell.

I use only AHEAD sticks, so I feel somewhat insulated from lumber woes. I suppose AHEAD could say, "Hey, everyone else is jacking up prices; let's join the frenzy." But my sticks last a very long time, and I buy only a few pairs a year. I'm not terribly concerned about experiencing bankruptcy over stick purchases.

I had to pay $60 for a piece of plywood last month I would have paid $25 for last year. I seriously hope this nonsense doesnt start effecting stick cost. I'll just move to AHEAD if it does.