Heel Toe for fast double bass -- Spring Tension and Head Tuning questions

you sure dont present yourself on a post as a experienced ,pro taught drummer !

He's not wrong though, however he presents himself. He actually addressed the elephant in the room; the fact that 16th notes at 110 BPM is, frankly, slow, and heel toe is not the answer for more "speed" at that slow tempo.
BTW, I was about to go that same route when I started playing double bass. I hit a wall at 160 bpm, and gave up on singles and started learning heel toe. Thankfully I regrouped, doubled down on my singles and broke through to eventually 240-250 bpm.

I don't remember exactly how long that took since it was years ago, but it was at least 3-5 years.

To the OP, heel toe is very useful and actually fun to play and I recommend learning it. But not as an alternative to increasing single stroke speed below at least 180 BPM. Something is wrong if you've practiced singles "for years" and can't break 110 BPM. If you don't remedy that, I think you'll run into the same obstacles using heel toe.

I highly recommend George Kollias' double bass lessons/tutorials.

Last edited:
He's not wrong though, however he presents himself. He actually addressed the elephant in the room; the fact that 16th notes at 110 BPM is, frankly, slow, and heel toe is not the answer for more "speed" at that slow tempo.
BTW, I was about to go that same route when I started playing double bass. I hit a wall at 160 bpm, and gave up on singles and started learning heel toe. Thankfully I regrouped, doubled down on my singles and broke through to eventually 240-250 bpm.

I don't remember exactly how long that took since it was years ago, but it was at least 3-5 years.