What is This Note?

that is a open double stroke drag played on the "a" of beat 4 (I am assuming). The little slash is an abbreviation for 32nd notes, which is the actual subdivision that is played/heard

Weird. Usually the slash means a roll but there isn’t much time to play a roll there. I probably would have notated it as two 32nd notes or as a flam before the next note. It wouldn’t play the same but is probably easier to understand and play.

it is a roll...just a short one...a drag: llR or rrL depending on how you want to stick it...

A drag usually would be notated just before the next note, as the flam would. The extremely short roll just looks weird to me. (Unless the tempo is extremely slow)

it is actually a drag to the beat 1 of the next measure...like the little strokes written out as the actual rhythm they make - which are 32nd notes

So I'm a total newb here. The slash denotes a short roll which is also known as a "drag"?

actual yes...a drag is the shortest roll you can have...a total of 3 strokes: the 2 little ones, and the release --> ll R or rr L

the slash is the common notation of taking the slashed note to the next smallest subdivision, which in this case would be a 32nd note, since the slash is on the 16th note

a roll is a combination of a bunch of the drag strokes in longer form. so a 9 stroke roll would be rr-ll-rr-ll-R...

Realistically, are they indicating two 32nds, four 64ths, or what(?) between the start of that roll and the first note in the next measure? What is the “most proper” number of notes from the point of view of those writing these things, in your opinion.

The notation is meant to indicate two 32nds, played as a double. This is just the modern way of writing a drag in rudimental style, nothing more.

OK. So, the rudimentary notation point/reason is to say “play as a double stroke”, meaning the same hand and not alternating hands?

yes...exactly.