Question on DW cymbal felts

GCRoberts

I'm a first year drummer on my first drum kit (DW Performance), so I'll be asking dumb questions for a few more years! :cool: I understand that you shouldn't over tighten the cymbal wing nuts. The DW felts seem to be so sturdy that there's a fine line between loose and snug. Just seems like you can't snug the wing nut at all and still allow the cymbals to be loose, the wing nut has to be so loose that you swear it is going to spin round by itself when you're playing from the vibrations. Are DW felts unusually stiff?

It's been a while since I played DW, but I do remember the new felts being very firm. Plus they had (have?) a plastic cover on the top one. They will relax with time, but never compress like cheaper felts. Which is a good thing - at least I think so.

I seem to remember being able to adjust the height/position of the cymbal seat on DW arms? Using a drum key to loosen a small bolt, and slide the cymbal seat up/down a bit. Maybe just the ones I had?

It's been a while since I played DW, but I do remember the new felts being very firm. Plus they had (have?) a plastic cover on the top one. They will relax with time, but never compress like cheaper felts. Which is a good thing - at least I think so.

I seem to remember being able to adjust the height/position of the cymbal seat on DW arms? Using a drum key to loosen a small bolt, and slide the cymbal seat up/down a bit. Maybe just the ones I had?
Some of the DW felts have a plastic cover....some don't. I think they sell both versions. Yes, you can adjust the base using a drum key, and I've done that. But it seems to always come down to the pads being a little too firm in my opinion. But as a newbie, I always like to get the opinions of people who aren't newbies! :cool:

I'm a first year drummer on my first drum kit (DW Performance), so I'll be asking dumb questions for a few more years! :cool: I understand that you shouldn't over tighten the cymbal wing nuts.