If you can have only have hi hats/crash/ride...

Zildjian K Custom Hybrids, especially the 19" crash and the hats.

My recently acquired Paiste Fomula 602 ME 15" hats, 18" crash and 20" ride. Until now I have only used 3 cymbals at a time, but I now have the three above plus a Paiste 505 series 16" crash which matches pretty well and give a more trashy sound when needed.
I’ve been using Paiste Giant beats 15/20/24 for many years now. I love them but want to get something new. The 602 ME are in my radar 15/20/22 but they’re way too expensive

Reactions: RVN
There was a point in my younger days that I used 14" new beats with a 21" traditional finish sweet ride in the 'ride' position and a 21" brilliant finish sweet ride in the 'crash' position. That was quite a fun set up. The difference in tonal qualities just between the brilliant and traditional finishes made them totally different animals despite being the same size and model/profile.

20" K Custom Ride - my dream ride. I don't own it yet, but the ones I have played on showed me that I could get it in all situations too

Don't get me wrong, it's a lovely cymbal and it DOES do lots of things beautifully... but I found it doesn't crash well at all and may be a bit bright and projecting for some low-volume situations. I haven't played mine since getting my Omni (but I also can't quite bring myself to sell it, I've had it since 1991).

Don't get me wrong, it's a lovely cymbal and it DOES do lots of things beautifully... but I found it doesn't crash well at all and may be a bit bright and projecting for some low-volume situations. I haven't played mine since getting my Omni (but I also can't quite bring myself to sell it, I've had it since 1991).

I know a place in C-bus Ohio where that K Custom would have a good home :cool:

15" Meinl Byzance Vintage pure hats
20" Meinl Byzance Extra Thin Hammered Crash
22" Paiste Dark Energy Mark II Ride