I want to start recording advice needed

Ransan

Hello I have been drumming for about 30 years I have no experience recording and want to set up a mini studio just for myself then see where/how it goes. My main thing is I have a huge concert tom drum kit that I would like to mic up, 12 pieces total. I know I need two room overheads in addition to addressing the pieces, will that be all for mic coverage? This large platform would allow me to mic up smaller kits as well but I want to make sure I have enough space for the CT kit.

I have been looking at the Focusrite 18i20, will that have enough space? Is there a better competitor? What is it I’m looking for exactly regarding jacks/channels etc..? I then plan to get the Shure dmk 52-57 kit and expanding from that. Same are these good and is there a competitor?

I plan to use my Surface Pro 3 and the software, I am not particular about that, but any opinions welcome, I do know about Protools but my guess is that’s the flagship.

I guess in short I’m looking for a studio rig template that will have enough channels/mixing space for my larger set ups.

Thanks for your advice.

Begin with the Focusrite and two (or three in your case) inexpensive multi-pattern LDCs. Something like the AKG P420 or AT2050. This will give you a stereo image and an extra one for the front. Recording will be simple and you'll get to focus on mic placement, phase coherence, and learning to self balance. If you find that you need more isolation/control on individual instruments (snare) add the dynamic mics from the DMK pack.

Understand that mic'ing for recording differs from live mic'ing in that... For Live, you want dynamics on each instrument, and the overheads are an afterthought. When recording, it is the opposite. The overheads/condensers play the main role, and the dynamics are the afterthought.

I went down the audio recording path a few decades ago and: