Drum Dial or Tune Bot?

dirtyclinic

I don't have either but I want to buy one. I am not very experienced with tuning drums. Which one should I get? The more expensive one is $100 which is not a problem.

Of those two, Tune-Bot all the way.

The Tune-bot is a standard tuning device that goes for pitch, which is what you want to go for with your ears, as well.

You can say tuning for head tension is nice for tuning quietly, but things aren't always that simple.

I'd get the Bot and not use it only as a crutch, but also as training wheels to train my ears and also simply as tool to document it when I find something I like. If you have a Bot you can always get back to what you had, so there will be no excuse to just experiment without it either.

I go by ear mostly, but the Tune-Bot(or the iDrumtune app) save time when changing heads because I generally know the pitches I'm going for.

Tune-bot stores kits in memory so once you find a tuning you like you can eliminate most of the tedium from future tuning.

I vote for neither. Drums aren't melodic. They can easily be tuned (or tensioned) by ear, provided you aren't afraid to trust your own judgement, which is informed and refined through exposure and practice. In the words of Phil Rudd, "Tuning is a feel thing. If you can't feel it, you can't tune it." That sums up my philosophy on the topic.

If you're bent on getting a device, disregard my statements. I probably represent a fading school of thought in drumming. I kind of like it that way.

Tune Bot Studio !
Read the instructions, get used to it, etc.
More accurate than the Drum Dial, without question.

Not the question you asked ... but there are $5 apps for your phone that work better than tunebot.

For me, drumdial is just a quick way for me to get close to where I wanna be when replacing heads. I have never had any luck getting a final tuning using one.

Best solution for clearing heads (final tuning) is Resotune