Taking a break from drumming

DrummerCA35

I have been playing drums since the age of 12. I’m now 51. I’ve been gigging since the age of 14. My profession is that of database administrator in an IT department which has its stresses. The drums have been my passion and fun outside of the family and profession. I haven’t picked up a drumstick in about three months. After the pandemic hit, I was practicing more than ever. At some point, with a house remodel, I took down my electric drums and I haven’t set them back up. Obviously, all of our gigs have been canceled and it is unknown when our band will play again. Before, it was the upcoming gig or maybe the new tune or just banging on the old tunes that motivated me to play when I wasn’t with the band. It’s weird but after playing for all these decades I don’t even have a desire to pick up a drumstick right now and set my electronic drums back up. This is the only time that I’ve gone this long without playing with the one exception of when I was not able to after some injuries. I’m figuring I better start playing again lest there really be some rust to shake off when we finally do resume, if we resume. Not playing for several months is one thing, if it stretches out to a year that may become a problem when I start up again. For those of you that I stopped playing for a while, how long did you stop for? And how was it when you resumed?

I realized I forgot to add something really important. The tinnitus that I’ve been having for several years has gone down dramatically if not completely. I have tried all kinds of hearing protection and it still persisted to one degree or another. I have to ask myself if I am willing to go back. Assuming the opportunity even presents itself.

Last edited: