ARE YOU A DIVE BAR DRUMMER?

In my mind Im an amateur intermediate with a heck of a lot to offer the music in terms of feel, groove, and excitement. Many of you on here, rightfully so, would probably laugh at that and say, "aww how cute, he thinks he can play!"

I wouldn't look down upon you at all. That's exactly what music is made of: "feel, groove, and excitement." In a lot of cases, anything beyond those elements is just drumming, which can be quite anti-musical when its goal is to showcase itself. I'd rather hear music than some guy soloing on a thirty-five-piece kit. The second example has always done less than nothing for me.

Last edited:
I aspire to be a dive bar drummer. In fact, I just started jamming with a local guitar and bass player for fun. The primary goal is to have fun and hope to play occassional gigs at a couple local dive bars nearby. I've been playing for 45 years, off and on. When I was a teen we had a "basement" band that played the typical classic rock you would hear from that general era. In college I played in the school's jazz ensemble and studied snare drum to improve my technique. I also took some lessons from a local jazz drummer. I also played in the house band of a dinner theater in the downtown of the city (Buffalo, NY) as well as the house band of a school sponsored "variety show".