First acoustic kit

RSB100

Im after some advice on best first acoustic kit. I own a electronic kit and am a new drummer (6 months). Im looking for a kit which is good enough to last me for a few years and that I can upgrade parts of as and when needed. I have heard the Pearl Export is very good and have also seen Yamaha Rydeen advertised. Which of these is best and what alternative kits should I look at? Thanks!

I wonder how the Mapex Mars birch compare to birch customs? I have no experience with either. What does TAMA offer in this price range? Heck I got more questions than RSB LOL. No help at all. Sorry.

First, welcome to Drummerworld.

Buy used. Whatever kit (brand) you decide to get, your money will go a lot farther buying used. The two kits you mention, new, puts you in the $400 - $600 dollar range. And that's just for the shell pack (drums only). Add cymbals and hardware ..... you're knocking on the $800 - $1000 door pretty quick. Also .... new heads. The UT heads that entry level kits ship with do not bring out the best in any drum.

If you can find a starter kit used ..... you might be able to walk away with everything (drums, cymbals, hardware) for $300 - $500. Here's a used Export kit with hardware for $250. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Pearl-Expo...703142&hash=item1ce05f65e9:g:PNYAAOSwxUJdrwLz

Something like that is a great place to start.

I as well first owned an electronic kit before buying an acoustic. I bought a Pearl Forum off of a young guy who was off to university. I got it home and replaced all the skins after doing a bunch of researching on these forums and the kit sounded way better than with the beat up original stock Pearl skins. I then bought some cymbals after even more research and listening to tons of sound bytes and this kit rocks now. I'm having boatloads of fun and my son who is 7 also has gravitated to the kit and that's made me very, very happy as it gets him off the stinking video games. :)