Are you a fish out of water too?

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
Another thread gave me this idea, so I was curious as to see if anyone can relate.

I've been playing drums for over 20 years now. I love the area where I live, and I have a day job, so music isn't needed for my income.

With that said, the only problem is that I live in bluegrass country where drums is the LAST thing these bands want. There's this one bluegrass-based band that lets me sit in from time to time, but not everyone in the group likes me being there. I'm very thankful to have the opportunity to play with them because overall, it can still be a lot of fun. I was really hoping to get something going with the last Americana-based band I was in. I was really wanting to be the poor-man's Sam Bush band, but no one really was game. We have since disbanded.

In regards to bands that actually want a drummer, there's only one band in my town that's actually doing anything, and luckily I play drums with them (rock and country covers with a handful of originals). Also, there's a solo artist in town who I'm starting to play with as well (primarily rock and originals). I play at church, and I've been invited to play at a couple of area churches as well. So my work is steady.

I feel very, very lucky to be as busy as I am. Even still, I still feel like a fish out of water because around here if you aren't playing bluegrass or anything related to bluegrass music, you don't get booked at any of the higher-profile stuff here in town (we have a couple of pretty big festivals here, but they primarily feature bluegrass groups). While I'm making it work, I just don't "fit in" here. I'm definitely a fish out of water in many ways.

Anyone else feel like you simply don't fit in where you are (musically speaking)? Have you had to learn a new genre just to play music? Any other thoughts?