Plexiglass - but a little different.

How about we just put the singer in the fish tank. Then the mic won't get any bleed at all! Yeah, put the obnoxious guy in the box and see how he likes it.

At a church I used to play out, the "aquarium" was made up of removable panels. Because I'm a drummer, I'm always on time, so I would take off a couple of panels and put them in front of the guitar amps from time to time. The guitar players never saw it coming because, as eternity has taught us all, they always run late.

I think it's cool that the small plexiglass shields can be mounted to cymbal stands, but aside from having to lug around more hardware, the disadvantage is that you'll have all those extra stands cluttering up the drum riser.

I play in a full plexiglass cage at church with acoustic panels across the top, similar to CB's pic. You are not lying when you say air flow is an issue and a fan is a requirement! We have been talking about going for a more open sound so this week we removed the top from the box but kept the panels all the way around except for the back door. We had rehearsal last night. We did a few takes of the same song at different volume levels to experiment with the sound and let the engineers dial it in for the room. Here's how it went:

Take #1 - Traditional Grip, no rim shots, relaxed playing, lite touch on the cymbals
- This went pretty well. No complaints from the singers regarding volume level, however, the sound crew then wanted the full Monty to see what the ultimate volume threshold could be so...

Take #2 - Matched Grip, rim shots on snare, multiple cymbals hit together at full volume