Advice on which studio kit to buy - please help me spend my money.

Well, to be fair, I make a lot of money. I'm just putting a price tag on it because the last time I bought two pro-level guitars and an amp on one pay period, the lady kinda freaked out. I could also save my pennies, but I'm not that great of a drummer, so I see no real benefit in going over 2k. If I were a great drummer, or drums were my main beau, I could see benefit.

Hello all! My first post, and I already want something. I'm looking to buy a new or used home/studio kit. I'm a singer-songwriter, but I've been playing drums for about 30 years, so I at least have the fundamentals of rhythm down :D by now. Here's the deal;
-I play folk rock, blues and traditionals. Used to play rock, but my drummer got too many DUIs, and I can't do guitar and drums at the same time. Not that talented.
-I won't be taking this to gigs. This is strictly for home and studio use.
-I have a nice house, so I want it to look nice.
-This'll be for recording and songwriting.
-My budget is flexible? My bread job is being a developer, so I have some money to buy nice things. How about up to around $1500, that's Mapex Saturn V money. I know, more money means moar drums, but I'll still have to get cymbals and stuff after the kit.
-Good with new or used, as long as used is in good condition.

And thank you all very much for your time, both in reading and replying.

I think you might be going about this the wrong way - or using the wrong criteria. I'd say first decide on sizes, even if only generally - like do you want big drums: 24/13/16, or a smaller set with an 18 or 20" bass drum. Some are available even smaller with 16 or 14" bass drums.

Then decide on how many drums you want - a small, 4 pc. jazz type set, or a monster with double bass drums and lots of toms (yes, you can find those used with your stated budget).