Which double pedal would be best?

Hi guys, I am new to drumming but really interested in playing rock with lots of double pedal. I don’t know which pedal to choose. Either the Iron cobra 200 series vs pearl p-932 double pedal? Also, i was going to purchase the meinl HCS cymbal pack but a lot of ppl say meinl sucks, what do you all think?

Thanks!

Depends on what you like really. If you don't know what you like, either will work. The Pearl has a round cam, so the footboard action will be linear. It also had an adjustable footboard.

The Tama has an accelerator cam, so it gets faster as it approaches the head. It might seem sluggish at first until it crosses the radius. I don't know if it has any adjustments.

I would pick the Pearl. I like a linear cam. And I have been using the older version of this pedal for years, so I would already know what to expect.

If you have no idea what you like, go to the store and try them both and see what feels better. Let your feet decide. For a first double pedal, you really can't go wrong with either one.

As much as I advocate buying the gear that you want, I also advocate knowing what you’re doing musically. Which means that your groove and time are solid on the basics first. When I was younger, having a double pedal really messed up my time because I was so concerned about learning and executing double bass licks that my basic time keeping went out the window. Definitely know your role in the band before you let the new piece of gear dictate what you play.

That said, I’d save up for a DW 5000 pedal set. I have the 5002 Accelerator with Canopus extension arm and it’s awesome. The Canopus arm makes the slave feel just like the primary.