New Kit or Expand Existing Kit: Gretsch

Drumprof

So here’s a question I have been pondering....
Would appreciate some feedback and thought it would make a good subject for discussion.

I am a professional jazzer and own a couple of high end bop kits, but do get calls to play with different groups (cover, blues and country) for which I kept an old Pearl Export on hand for just such occasions, and it worked great, but believe me, the export had run its course and was in rough shape. So I unloaded (gave) it to a student who needed a kit thinking it’s time to upgrade the “rock” “non jazz” kit anyway.
So, I started looking around, researching and I’m pretty much sold on a possible new Gretsch Renown, gig kit in larger or what I’ll refer to as rock sizes (22 or maybe 20 with 10, 12 and 16) OR do I just expand on my current USA custom bop, adding say a 20 or 22x16 bass, (not really a fan of 18 inch depths), buying a 10 and maybe a 15 floor?

Of course a couple things come to mind...first of all cost.
I can get a shell pack of Renown’s for just the price of a USA larger bass. Add in the 10 and 15 and that’s a lot of bucks.

Second... heads and tuning.
I prefer emperor or two ply’s on the “rock”kit and of course tune them a bit lower than when I bop. So for convenience, a Renown rock kit would be two ply’d, tuned and ready to go for the gig. The USA Custom would require at least tuning down a bit, and would probably stay single ply because it would seem a bit impractical to re-head from gig to gig. (These aren’t 1,000 dollar gigs were talking here).

The Renown’s seem perfect for what I need, economically make great sense and I can get all the drums in one shot, although I wish I could get the 22 in a 16 at the most.

On the other hand, It would be sweet to have personal shell bank of USA’s to pull from and my bop shells are black nitron so adding components would match of course. I would probably have to add them one at a time though, considering cost.

Thoughts?