Does Trad grip make you "think" differently?

Midnite Zephyr

Platinum Member
Even though I'm not very good at Trad grip, it does seems to make me approach things differently and think differently too.

I would say even if you're not a trad grip player and you're working on a part, it's worth it just to try it and see what happens when you switch grips.

Agreed. I do “think” differently when I play trad. I find myself focusing more because of the different grips in each hand. Definitely cool to be able to do both.

I think Trad Grip does change thinking when playing...little less 'reach'...little easier 'snap'.

Heck, wearing socks only vrs shoes vrs bare feet changes my thinking on the set.

It makes me hungry and think of eating chinese food as I always use chopsticks.

Interesting topic.

I really don't have anything to compare it to. I've played Trad my whole life - it 's just how I was taught back in the 60s.

I'm sure there are differences - obvious physically, but mentally, I don't know.

I hope this thread doesn't turn into a Trad vs Match debate, but I am curious to hear from members who are proficient at both.

I'm equally as good at both!
aaf_dur.gif

..it does seems to make me approach things differently and think differently too..

In which way..?

Because, to be honest, in my opinion the only different way would be that you have to think how to hit drum to get a proper sound (regarding your set up, arm/hand-movement, etc..)..Which is all a physical difference..

There can also be an emotional difference that the one or the other can make you feel a little more creative/comfortable regarding getting certain sounds/patterns/etc., but thats about that..

Maybe a little off-topic, but sounds a little like the discussion about matched-grip players not being able to play jazz properly, which is also not making much sense..

In which way..?