Appetite For Destruction Ride Sound Help

Tony Marz

I started playing in a proto-metal band, and my lovely A Zildjian 22" medium ride is not cutting through like I need it to.

I need a sound as close to Steven Adler's Ride sound in Appetite For Destruction as humanly possible.

Do I need an "unlathed" ride?

Do I need a Z Zildjian?

Would a RUDE ride work?

It's not necessary that I have THE EXACT ride as Steven had.

(Besides, there seems to be no consensus on what he used for that album anyways)

lol

I just need some "pointing in the right direction" type of advice.

Thanks in advance!

I think that the ride Adler used on AFP was a Zildjian A 21" Rock Ride

I base this on the timeline of the videos released as singles for AFP. "Welcome to the Jungle", he's playing Pearl Drums and Zildjian Cymbals. Same with "Sweet Child of Mine". By the release of "Paradise City" a year or so later, He's playing Tama Drums and Sabian Cymbals.

How accurate am I? I don't know, I could be off. I do remember at that time, the 21" rock ride was very popular, in both Zildjian and eventually Sabian versions. It might have been even on Buddy's kit at this time??? I know I will be corrected if this is not right.

If you find a Rock Ride, play it, and hopefully it will be the one.

I think that the ride Adler used on AFP was a Zildjian A 21" Rock Ride

I base this on the timeline of the videos released as singles for AFP. "Welcome to the Jungle", he's playing Pearl Drums and Zildjian Cymbals. Same with "Sweet Child of Mine". By the release of "Paradise City" a year or so later, He's playing Tama Drums and Sabian Cymbals.

How accurate am I? I don't know, I could be off. I do remember at that time, the 21" rock ride was very popular, in both Zildjian and eventually Sabian versions. It might have been even on Buddy's kit at this time??? I know I will be corrected if this is not right.

If you find a Rock Ride, play it, and hopefully it will be the one.