Left forearm pain while drumming..

Eliasand

So i'm a 16 year old drummer and have been playing for about 5-6 years and never had any injuries or such. But now a couple of weeks ago i started feeling this slight pain in my left arm. It hurt everytime i hit the snare after i'd been practicing for a while. I have good technique: loose grip and letting the stick bounce. And it only hurts while drumming. Any advice?

See the doctor (traumatology) be aware of rimshots, play soft.

Best!

I had a similar experience a few years ago. Turned out it was a squashed disc in my spine touching some nerves which went to my left arm.

Discovered this by seeing a chiropractor who sent me for X-Rays, which confirmed their suspicions. Treatment was 8 x fortnightly chiropractic 'adjustments' which gradually straightened the upper spine and also improved my posture. The pain and tingling gradually faded away. I have no problems any more.

Why don't people just go and see a *&%^ing doctor? At least over here, they spend about 7 years qualifying to practise and have countless hours learning about the human body and its ailments.

They are the experts. NetMD, Drummerworld and you are not. Like any profession they sometimes get things wrong but I think the likelihood of a proper diagnosis in person with a qualified professional is infinitely higher than asking a bunch of non-qualified people over the Internet what they think of your non-specific symptoms.

So i'm a 16 year old drummer and have been playing for about 5-6 years and never had any injuries or such. But now a couple of weeks ago i started feeling this slight pain in my left arm. It hurt everytime i hit the snare after i'd been practicing for a while. I have good technique: loose grip and letting the stick bounce. And it only hurts while drumming. Any advice?