3 Instructors -- Help me choose.

Vinny

Total beginner here. I'm hoping for some advice on choosing one of three instructors I worked with over a couple months. Lets call them Ginger, Hal, and Thelonius.
Age wise they are around 48, 72, and 60 respectively, so they are all experienced drummers. Obviously, the choice of an instructor involves various factors personal to the student. On the other hand, there's probably factors that perhaps only experienced drummers are aware of. I would appreciate any of your thoughts.

The four lessons with Ginger took place at his home. The lessons progressed from counting 16th notes on the snare as: 1 e + a 2 e + a 3 e + a 4 e + a. We then progressed to include the ride, then bass, then all three together with different sequences.

The four lessons with Hal involved learning 6 basic rock patterns. Hal taught me that snare is normally on two and four with bass and hi-hat on three and four. (weird thing was, even though I had been playing it, I never noticed the corresponding numbers until he told me.)

I only had two lessons with Thelonius. He's a jazz drummer and music teacher. He was fast, tight and technically amazing. He barely moved while executing amazing sounds over the entire kit.

The first lesson with Thelonius was chit-chat and grip. The second lesson was simply right-left-right-left while keeping sticks at same height and an explanation of an "accent". He is clearly focused on technique, but at my age I'm concerned about too slow of a progression with him.

So at 60 yoa, my dilemma is do I choose Thelonius who is clearly the most talented, but a stickler for fine points? Or do I choose between Ginger and Hal, who seem less focused on detail and more on getting me playing along to some rock?

Yeah, it's fun playing along to music, but on the other hand I also want to be technically sound as well.

Last edited:
My vote is for Hal, because his focus seems to be on imparting directly applicable knowledge