Papa's got the same ol' bag

aydee

Platinum Member

I started playing with some amount of seriousness when I was 15 years old. Went through a sabbatical in my 30s when financial instability intervened. Been playing some semi-pro/ some sometimes pro ever since.

I'll be 58 next month so thats 33 years of solid playing. And I think Im just beginning to get some of it... just maybe..

'Tis a mystery, this drumset thang. Time and space n' Rhythms n'accents. modulations, meters , innerclocks, the whole poly-ness of it all. It takes your whole life, godammit!

Anybody else got anything to say?

I haven't gotten much of anything yet. I still have sobering, humbling moments on this instrument on a regular basis. It sometimes seems like a cruel joke; trying to strike membranes with sticks and beaters and have it all be musical and in great time. Kind of like baseball players when you contemplate that they're trying to hit a round ball traveling at 95 mph with a round bat. Or golfers doing what they do. The frustration can be disheartening at times. But once it gets in you, you can't stop doing it. You just can't.

I just want to play more, with more bands, but I haven't got the time for more than 3 bands at the moment, coupled with school and social stuff. Maybe I'll just lock myself in for a year after I'm done with school.

At about 10 months younger than you Abe, instead of focusing on what I can't do, I take great pleasure in what I can do.

It feels funny saying this, but I have enough physical technique to play the gigs that appeal to me. Which in the big scheme of things is not a whole lot compared to insert your favorite technical drummer here.