Lots of new Happenings! (first drum lesson!!)

hyruleherojoe

OK so it's been a while since I posted anything here. Still lurk everyday! So as some people may know I've been playing drums for 8 years now and never had a lesson. There were a lot of lesson related posts and it convinced me that its NEVER a bad idea to take some lessons. After many months of procrastination and shifting schedules, I managed to book 4 drum lessons!

I was super duper excited! First lesson was a trial lesson so I used that to see whether or not the instructor was a good fit for me. His education consisted of Berkeley in Boston and Drummer's Collective. I met him and he instantly loves that I'm not a new beginner and is excited to teach me. Our first lesson he was trying to figure out where to even start with me. We ended up going over the free half hour because we just kept talking and getting excited about favorite drummers and styles.

The second lesson we got down to business. He had me try the Songo, Mozambique and a Sextuplet fill that was three 7 note lick and a triplet at the end. All of those I was already exposed to so it only took me a few tries to get. I left the second lesson having second thoughts.

While I enjoyed the lessons I felt that it wasn't challenging enough or that I can easily check online on how to play these different latin styles. I remember reading on this forum about how nothing beats the live feedback from an instructor. I want that so bad, but its mostly been jamming and trying new ideas in our jams and improvisations. Maybe what I'm seeking is a curriculum? A linear course with an end goal? Not just me coming in the room and just jamming, then if I falter he would stop and go over what idea needed to be smoothed out. I'm guessing that patience on my end is needed.

My issue boils down to "am I willing to pay for just a jam buddy?"