groove vs chops?

in my school of thought being able to groove is a chop

There's an interesting take on the topic. Kind of breaks down the silly (imagined) "wall" between the two "disciplines".

That's not a chop.

This is a chop.

chop-1-4.jpg

You should listen to The Police more. Stewart Copeland most certainly can groove. Take into consideration it's Sting on bass and quick reggae. It's not the same as listening to Steve Jordan, but he is in the pocket.

Neil Peart though? No, he doesn't groove in the least.

Add to the list most, if not all, of the WFD guys.

Some people cite Stewart Copeland as a guy with chops who doesn't groove. IMO Neil Peart qualifies as well. If I'm not mistaken, Thomas Lang was cited as fitting this description too.

I'm not getting into this silly little discussion..... but I will express that I hate this "new" definition of "chops"

all "chops" ever meant to me and anyone I studied with was that you could play and make the music sound and feel good

like....the band leader calls..."Cherokee , you got the chops to keep up ?."

now all the sudden it means you distract the music with flurries of 64th note linear patterns and blinding over the top licks and being able to perform speedy acrobatics on the drum kit

in my school of thought being able to groove is a chop

^THIS!!!

I have never understood this distinction either.

I would like to mention Terry Bozzio. I would not say that he can really groove. He plays grooves. He has an incredible talent. But the man is like a drum machine. I saw a drum channel video one time and I'm not sure who he was with but for the life of him he could not play in between swung and straight time.

Ah yes, the endless thsi vs. that of DW topics

To commemorate ....a poem of the day:

Oh what behoove, chops versus groove?
Surely you're aghast, some snares use die cast
Would one be demoted, for using clear over coated?
And is it really Ringo.... versus everybody?

Beautiful...