Does "popular" equal "influential"?

StickIt

I just posted to a thread, that is still there and probably still in bold letters, asking what the most influential albums of a certain genre of music are, and it got me to thinking (oops).

As a musician, I have always delved into the deeper cuts of any artists' albums that I really enjoy, and tend to find that I like those gems more (in general) than the songs that became popular hits off of those same albums...

Sometimes, I find that I like the obscure albums more than the top selling albums as a whole.

Is this true of a lot of, if not most, players? If so, then doesn't that beg the question: Wouldn't the true shape of the history of music have been directed by the albums that the general public didn't enjoy as much as us musos?

There's no answer, of course, but I thought it might be interesting to hear some thoughts on the subject; if anyone's interested.

Born in the 1940's here, throughout most of my life sales of Classical and Jazz recordings
have amounted to about 1-3% of record sales. Consider how many forms of music are spin offs of ideas that came to fruition in the jazz community first. You'll find bits and pieces of
what Miles Davis was doing in the 50's and Charlie Parker before him in all kinds of music
that is popular today. An ongoing process it is.

I might add that one of the great things in the 1960's was anybody who wanted to put out an album or record could. The record execs had the attitude of "let's give 'em a shot and see
if it sells or not". In the intervening decades the record industy took much greater control over what was going to be released or not etc. The internet has thankfully reversed this trend and
now anybody and everybody can get their music out so the public can once again decide what they like with fewer limitations on what is available to them.