Let's Decipher a Fill.

NerfLad

Silver Member
Opeth's 2011 release, Heritage, is really awesome. I mean REALLY awesome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtTr6G5Xg30

Go to 4:40 and check out Martin Axenrot's (badass) fill into the pipe organ-breakdown (woo!). What the heck is he doing there in the second bar? It sounds like quintuplets to me, but I'm not really sure.

Cheers,

Nerflad

Edit: On second thought, I think that's a flute.

You mean around 4:47? I'm still kinda new to this... But I don't hear any triplets/quintuplets. Sound like this to me (forgive the bad beaming and rest-grouping, Noteflight...). Oh and some of those snares in measures 2-3 should be toms, and there should be some flams at the beginning, I got lazy.

Attachments

• famine.png
    famine.png
    2.9 KB · Views: 266
You mean around 4:47? I'm still kinda new to this... But I don't hear any triplets/quintuplets. Sound like this to me (forgive the bad beaming and rest-grouping, Noteflight...). Oh and some of those snares in measures 2-3 should be toms, and there should be some flams at the beginning, I got lazy.

I hate to say this, but that's definitely not it... the tempo stays the same and he's clearly moving away eighth notes. He fits it into two bars, not three. Like I said, it sounds like quintuplets (5 notes to a quarter) to me, but I can't really tell.

Wow really nice feel.

the first part is Flam Kick Kick Flam Kick Kick Flam kick .In the second part he is playing triplets in 4 note grouping starting each phrase with two sixteenth snares followed by a tom and two kicks:
SnaSna Tom Kick Kick, SnaSna Tom Kick Kick, Snasna Tom Kick Openhat plus Snare.

I hope my explanation makes sense. Otherwise if you could recommend me some easy software to notate it, i would gladly do so