band member 'awareness'

opentune

Platinum Member
I've been in several different bands now. Very seldom do the members notice changes to my kit at practice - lets say new or different hats, ride, crashes, snare depth/kind, heads, smaller kick drum, or ported kick drum...etc . I end up having to tell them afterward that changes were made. But I notice their changes in gear instantly.
Maybe I'm invisible, or maybe drummers are just more aware?
I'd like to think many musicians in bands have pretty good ears for details.

You're not alone, I notice any small gear change from my bandmates. But I'm also a gear head regarding drums, bass, and a guitar gear. However, and maybe it's just my band, but they also notice changes in my gear.

Our gear is kind of like the 5th member of the band though, our wall of amps and the big drums kind of have their own personality, so maybe that has something to do with it.

I've been playing lead guitar in bands for 20+ years and I have to admit that I never noticed a thing about the drummer or the drums. I really only noticed their ability to keep time. I would've have known cheap cymbals from top-of-the-line cymbals. All I knew is that they were loud and annoying. ha ha

I made a full time switch to drums around 1 1/2 years ago. I play in a cover band and an all original band. I can show up with a totally different kit with obviously different colors and nobody says a word. LOL... Now I'm on the receiving end of that.

So yeah, I've come to the conclusion from being on both sides of the fence that very rarely does anyone notice or care about drums or drummers. It's sad to say that and I may have to put on my flame suit soon (lol), but that's my opinion.

You're right Sgt.

People don't notice, many drummers don't notice either from some of the gear conditions I've witnessed (!).

If we are gigging, we all have had the "this kit is NOT as cool as mine" and have to use a back line, or share an iffy kit on a gig at one time.