jazz

1. X

How to progress with jazz/fusion

Hi, I’m a novice in Jazz and Fusion, having mainly played rock/pop etc. but I have a rather hairy goal of learning Chick Corea’s Got a match played by Mr. Dave Wekl. I can now play the «clave» (don’t think that is the right Word for it) part, at 120 bpm (the goal i 150, but that might never be...
  2. gobears10

Tower of Power - What Is Hip? (Drum Cover)

After months of practice, I'm excited to share my drum cover of "What Is Hip?" by Tower of Power! Diving into David Garibaldi's linear grooves and funky ghost notes was incredibly fun. Couldn't help smiling and dancing along. Enjoy
  3. kaancelenjazz

Well You Needn't (Trade) video from my concert

Thanks for watching:)
  4. Anon La Ply

Our "jazz" album

All the talk about fusion being dead seemed like a good time to drive in my own small nail :) Over the years, my old jam pal and I did the occasional jazzy tune, so I put them together in this collection - there's all kinds of styles because it's amateur music made purely for fun, warts and...
  5. A

Cymbalholics alumni

Hey guys! Decided to join. I heard Joe was here. :) Any other Cymbalholics here? Need some advice on what ride sounds like Tony Williams. I want to spend hours debating gram weights. I need to find a China that doesn't sound like a China. I need this to sound good. ;-) -ADG
  6. Z

Can you buy just the rattan handle of vibraphone mallets?

I'm looking to wrap my own mallets for jazz vibraphone and I need to find four matching handles. I would prefer rattan over wood... I cannot for the life of me get google to find results for just the stick part. I don't need any of the yarn wrapped around it already. I could keep scrounging...
  7. B

Your top 10 hybrid rudiments for jazz

I'm interested in learning some hybrid rudiments and applying them in a jazz context, but the lists on the web are too long (one I found had 500!). What 10 have you found to be the most useful or fun to use in jazz? cheers