DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:12 AM
ronyd's Avatar
ronyd ronyd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 303
Default roland triggers compatibility?

Can I assume that the roland triggers will work with Yamaha DTX500 o r700 modules?
__________________
Absolute Custom Birch; Custom Oak
A2E converted kit - quiet please - ssssh
Paiste cymbals
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2012, 02:51 AM
wildbill wildbill is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: roland triggers compatibility?

You're probably OK with pads that have a single trigger. Pads that have two or three trigger areas - not so much. You'd have to research each one individually.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:33 PM
scorch whammin's Avatar
scorch whammin scorch whammin is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Savannah, GA USA
Posts: 1,058
Default Re: roland triggers compatibility?

As wildbill stated, you won't have any problem with single zone (i.e., head) trigger, you might have a problem with 2nd zone trigger (i.e., rim)...however, the only dual zone trigger roland sells is for the snare, so not too big a deal...

...the reason you might have problems with 2nd/3rd zone triggering is because yamaha modules recognize a switch type trigger rather than a piezo type trigger in the 2nd/3rd zones...that being said, I have dual piezo zone RHP pads and have no problem triggering 2nd zone with my DTX900 module...so you never know..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2012, 09:41 PM
wildbill wildbill is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: roland triggers compatibility?

I've got a couple PD-7 and PD-9 pads that my DTXM only recognizes the head trigger.

I've heard 3 zone cymbals are an even bigger can of worms though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2012, 12:50 AM
scorch whammin's Avatar
scorch whammin scorch whammin is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Savannah, GA USA
Posts: 1,058
Default Re: roland triggers compatibility?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildbill View Post
I've heard 3 zone cymbals are an even bigger can of worms though.
It's generally best to stay within the same brand when doing electronics...I've mixed and matched Roland & Yamaha e-kit products in the past with varying success...however, it's just easier to stay within a brand when using electronics...Yamaha IMO handles the three zone stuff better than anyone...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2012, 04:53 AM
wildbill wildbill is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: roland triggers compatibility?

From the little experience I have with it, I'd have to agree with that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com