DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-09-2012, 11:29 PM
Furrow Furrow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

All I want to do is record my module sounds to a GarageBand track. I have a MackBook Pro ( 8,1). I tried a midi to usb cable but it only triggered the GB sounds [and an annoying honk sound for the hihat]. Since there is not a line in on this model Mac, I'm guessing that firewire 800 and an interface is the answer. But before going to that expense I wonder if it too will only trigger the GB sounds? Anyone know?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2012, 12:57 AM
thebarak's Avatar
thebarak thebarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 121
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

A digital audio interface of any type is ideal. You may not have a line-in on the new Macbook, but you are not missing much as the line-in results need a lot of post production anyway. With a USB or Firewire audio interface you record the actual audible sound of the module, not any MIDI signal.
__________________
Yamaha DTX drums, DTX700 module, DXR12 sound.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2012, 06:46 PM
Furrow Furrow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

@ TheBarak: Thank you. Now I wonder... In the near future I plan to go VST anyway, probably BFD or Superior. Would that bring me back to the midi/usb cable, negating the need for the interface? If so I would rather jump out there now and spend on a VST. See what I mean about the "Dummy" part?
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2012, 12:31 AM
thebarak's Avatar
thebarak thebarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 121
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Furrow View Post
@ TheBarak: Thank you. Now I wonder... In the near future I plan to go VST anyway, probably BFD or Superior. Would that bring me back to the midi/usb cable, negating the need for the interface? If so I would rather jump out there now and spend on a VST. See what I mean about the "Dummy" part?
Chris
The MIDI to USB cable will allow you to play the standard drum sounds in Garageband, without buying your first VST software package. But MIDI and audio are separate so that cable will not be able get the module's sounds over to your computer.

The DTX700 sounds are so good that you might miss them badly until you spend more money on a VST package for the Mac.

If you buy an audio interface you can still do MIDI through as you would with the cable solution.
__________________
Yamaha DTX drums, DTX700 module, DXR12 sound.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2012, 01:26 AM
Garvin's Avatar
Garvin Garvin is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern USA
Posts: 1,946
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

I just use a simple midi - USB cable. You can get them for like $8 on amazon. That sends signal straight from the drum brain into the computer without an A/I.
__________________
http://www.gregvdrums.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2012, 10:11 PM
thebarak's Avatar
thebarak thebarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 121
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garvin View Post
I just use a simple midi - USB cable. You can get them for like $8 on amazon. That sends signal straight from the drum brain into the computer without an A/I.
True but he cannot record his DTX700 sounds that way, the cable can only trigger virtual sounds on the Mac itself, and his cable is not playing nice with his Garageband hihat. Since there is no line in, he will need an audio interface to get the DTX sound onto a recording.
__________________
Yamaha DTX drums, DTX700 module, DXR12 sound.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:33 PM
Garvin's Avatar
Garvin Garvin is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern USA
Posts: 1,946
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

Ah, I see. My bad. I thought it was just the triggering a VST issue.
__________________
http://www.gregvdrums.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2012, 10:14 PM
anzi anzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 48
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

On my MacBook you can use the headphone jack as line in. You can change the function of that jack (in/out) from system preferences.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-14-2012, 04:01 PM
Dannysbeat's Avatar
Dannysbeat Dannysbeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: brighton UK and Toronto Canada
Posts: 39
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

If you want to record the audio of the dtx kit? Midi is no good as that is a midi signal not a audio sample.

So if you want the sound of the rock snare for instance, use the left audio out (mono ) conect to mic in on the Mac then record a hit on the snare and save a loop in GB lots of work but u can then build your own virtual kit using the audio sound from the dtx.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-14-2012, 10:09 PM
thebarak's Avatar
thebarak thebarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 121
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzi View Post
On my MacBook you can use the headphone jack as line in. You can change the function of that jack (in/out) from system preferences.
I forgot about the dual function of that socket on the new Macbook! You are correct.
__________________
Yamaha DTX drums, DTX700 module, DXR12 sound.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-17-2012, 05:54 PM
Furrow Furrow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: DTX900 to Mac..help for a dummy

Thank you all for the info! My work around solution ends up pretty bizarre. This particular Mac is one of only a couple models without the dual function headphone jack! Already having a little Korg digital recorder, I tracked on that. It uses mp2 files so I converted them to giff and dropped them into GB. This will not be my final solution though. I just needed something quick to collaborate long distance with my son and his music project.

This Macbookpro is on loan so I am not stuck with it's limitations.

Chris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com