DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 10-17-2012, 11:22 AM

Default looking for advice on drum heads!!

Hey Drummerworld community! Long time visitor, first time posting.

I'm a long time established bassist, but fairly new to the world of drumming. I'm very excited to say that I've just bought my very first set; a 1960 3 piece mahogany Slingerland Radio King shell set (kick, rack tom, and floor tom) that I picked up from a friend for 50 clams.

The drums themselves were in fairly good condition, but needed a little love. Not a full restoration, but enought to get them into comfortable playing condition. As a bassist, drums are equally my favorite instrument. I guess you might say that I'm just a flat out rhythm junkie :)

So anyways, I'm in the market for advice on drum heads, as I'm not totally sure what I'm looking for in my novice state. R&B, hip-hop, funk, and soul are my main influences. Any advice I could get would be super cool. Thanks folks, I love this site!
Old 10-21-2012, 10:15 AM

Default Re: looking for advice on drum heads!!

*scratches chin*

seems like you still need a snare, hardware, and cymbals ;)
Old 10-21-2012, 01:58 PM

sounds like you could go with some remo clear ambassadors on the bottom of your toms and possibly coated ambassadors, or emperors on the top. I believe those old slingerland kits have larger bearing edges (from what i can remember) so you will want to get as much resonance as you can from your drum heads. Remember that heavier heads provide more resonance, it seems counter-intuitive but you can think of it like this: If you hit two heads (a thin one and a thick one) with the same stick speed, they will both recieve the same initial speed. But the thicker one has more momentum as it has a larger mass, so it will resonate longer. Just a thought. haha