DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 10-15-2012, 08:39 PM

Default Silicone Electronic Pads

I am a drummer looking to purchase an electro kit, possibly a yamaha. But there are 2 main different surfaces, rubber and silicone. I was wondering about what the benifits are about the silicone head, and is it worth the extra cash.
Old 10-15-2012, 09:15 PM

Default Re: Silicone Electronic Pads

Basically rubber pads are the standard low-end pad, and the silicone ones are meant to be yamaha's pioneering higher end pad to rival the roland mesh head.

Personally I prefer the silicone as it has bounce that is much closer to real drums then rubber.

But with all things to do with drums, you really need to go and try them both out! Good Luck!
Old 10-15-2012, 09:21 PM

Rubber doesn't feel that great, but gets the job done. Silicone feels better, but Yamaha hasn't yet perfected the tensionable electronic head like Roland has with their mesh heads. If you are going with Yamaha I would spent the money on the silicone. If I had a choice between silicone and mesh .. I personally prefer mesh.
Old 10-15-2012, 09:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Black Page Dude View Post
Rubber doesn't feel that great, but gets the job done. Silicone feels better, but Yamaha hasn't yet perfected the tensionable electronic head like Roland has with their mesh heads. If you are going with Yamaha I would spent the money on the silicone. If I had a choice between silicone and mesh .. I personally prefer mesh.