DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-24-2012, 01:54 AM
ANIMALBEATS's Avatar
ANIMALBEATS ANIMALBEATS is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: borders of Scotland
Posts: 692
Default Best way to mount pads into acoustic kit?

I've got a Yamaha Dtxpress 3 it has its own rack. But how do I encorperate these pads into my acoustic kit. How do I mount them?
__________________
Drumming the fine art of violence.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2012, 02:30 AM
toddmc's Avatar
toddmc toddmc is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 1,048
Default Re: Best way to mount pads into acoustic kit?

Not sure I understand the question. I assume you're using a different rack for your A kit (hard to tell from your avatar) and NOT the DTX rack? If so, what rack are you using for said A kit??
If you use a tubular, 1.5" rack (I have a Roland / Dixon rack with this size) then Roland clamps and L-rods will do the job.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2012, 02:59 AM
ANIMALBEATS's Avatar
ANIMALBEATS ANIMALBEATS is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: borders of Scotland
Posts: 692
Default Re: Best way to mount pads into acoustic kit?

I use a Gibraltar rack.

I am worried about the positioning, the mount is not very long.
__________________
Drumming the fine art of violence.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2012, 02:54 PM
Soupy Soupy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 987
Default Re: Best way to mount pads into acoustic kit?

Road Series Gibraltar clamps: http://www.gibraltarhardware.com/?fa...&sid=86&cid=31

Try a SC-GRSAR clamp to attach a 1.5" tube to the Gibraltar rack, and whatever size clamp you need to attach the other end of the 1.5" tube to the arm on the pad. I forget the size of that part, could look at my DTXpress IV later if you can't figure it out. You can buy Gibraltar tubes and cut them to size, or else see if something from the Yamaha rack would work for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2012, 05:18 PM
harryconway's Avatar
harryconway harryconway is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 9,161
Default Re: Best way to mount pads into acoustic kit?

E-pads can be compacted. Between my Roland pads and my SPD-S, there are 14 pads, here. In the space of 2 floor toms. You could arrange your pads, above your floor tom(s), or put everything left of your hi-hat.
Attached Images
 
__________________
This seat does not recline as per Federal Aviation Regulation 121.310 (f)(3)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2012, 05:27 PM
Xero Talent's Avatar
Xero Talent Xero Talent is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 872
Default Re: Best way to mount pads into acoustic kit?

I put a few off to my left.

__________________
Yamaha | Paiste | Pro•Mark
youtube | gear | facebook | soundcloud
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com