DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 09-18-2012, 01:20 PM

Default Is it worth buying a used Roland TD-6VKX?

hey guys i have a quick question for all the e-drummers out there. i've been playing drums for a few years and have enough knowledge to know the perfect sound in the drums i like (Yam Maple Custom...mmmmm).

which brings me to a bit of a pickle because i want to buy a e-kit for practicing at home and to save space. a roland td-6vkx has become available to me but i'm really weary on the td6's sound capabilities in that i've heard on the internet a few demos and also heard from fellow drummers that the td-6v module is just getting to old now and the sounds aren't very realistic even when compared to the td4 and even td3 modules. i'd really love for a realistic drum experience as much as possible on an e-kit.

the roland though is AUD$1200 (or in USD currently is about $1250). the td-6vkx has the awesome mesh pads though which is what attracted me to the kit but im not entirely sure if this is worth it for the money.

i haven't played on a td-6 before so calling on the experiences of you guys to let me know if its worth buying especially for the price. any help is appreciated.

Old 09-19-2012, 03:06 AM

Default Re: Is it worth buying a used Roland TD-6VKX?

Based on what you wrote here, I predict you will be greatly disappointed in the sounds of that used Roland set. You may need to spend on a DTX700 module and compromise on the drum hardware if you have a restricted budget. You could do this by finding an older used Yamaha set and getting the new module.
Old 09-19-2012, 03:27 AM
Platinum Member